20160110_153143

I have a habit of binge watching shows on Netflix, so over time I’ve accumulated a long list of favourite TV shows. The following are my absolute favourites.

I’m always open to new suggestions so feel free to post your recommendations in the comments.

 

Breaking Bad

IMDB rating:9.5        My Rating: 9

When I first started watching this show, I didn’t think I’d get as into it as I have. This genre isn’t typically something I’d of chosen, but all my friends were speaking about it so I had to give it a go. And I’m really thankful that I did. It’s a roller coaster from the beginning and isn’t predictable at all. It kept me on edge and wanting to know more with every episode.

The director plays careful detail to character development throughout the series and I, as well as many others, developed strong emotions towards each of the characters.

Better Call Saul (Breaking Bad spin off)

IMDB rating: 8.8      My rating: 6

Having loved Breaking Bad, I assumed this would of been just as good. However, I felt that wasn’t the case. It’s a good series within it self, but I started it with high expectations stemming from Breaking Bad which sadly were not met.

You do not need to watch Breaking Bad to watch Better Call Saul, as the story lines are completely different and Breaking Bad isn’t spoiled by watching Better Call Saul first.

Dexter

IMDB rating: 8.8      My rating: 9

This TV show was right up my alley. I love everything about it. It’s fast paced and capturing from the get go with strong character development focused on the main character, though not so much the other supporting characters. The plot line is gripping, unique and of constant high quality.

However, I did feel that the ending didn’t match up to the quality of the rest of the TV show

American Horror Story

IMDB rating: 8.3     My rating: 8

Each series revolves around a different storyline with the same set of actors playing different character roles each series. Each series is psychotically unique with a gripping storyline to capture any audience.

This TV programme is definitely one of my favourites because of how unique it is. I’ve never seen anything like it, and I’ve been addicted since the first episode. Definitely worth binging on.

Grimm

IMDB rating: 7.8     My rating: 9

This series follows the dark side of the fairy tales. It has several intertwining plot lines that can sometimes be difficult to keep up with if you’re not paying rapt attention but each episode is gripping enough for this to never be the case.

if you like fairy tales and legends intertwined with reality, this is definitely a show to watch.

Jericho

IMDB rating: 8    My rating: 8

I’ve always been a huge fan of post apocalypse books, films, TV shows… anything about the subject really and this TV show really fit in well with my preferences.

It gives a realistic portrayal of survivors in a post nuclear war environment and the writing is of a quality that does not let the idea down.

The killing

IMDB rating: 8.2    My rating: 9

The only murder TV show with a strong female lead I’ve ever seen that doesn’t have a romantic side plot. It’s great to see the potential that series’ like these have when they’re not partly focused around the budding relationship of a female police officer and her partner. It focuses solely on the crime and for that I feel it makes for a really good watch.

Miranda

IMDB rating: 8     My rating: 7

One of the best comedy TV shows I’ve ever seen. It’s consistently  funny the whole way through and I feel that the two main characters are highly relate-able in the way they tackle every day life. It just shows that to have an effective female lead, they don’t have to follow the stereotypical beautiful blonde hype.

Orange is the new black

IMDB rating: 8.4     My rating: 9

I generally stay away from prison series’, but this is definitely enough to change my mind on that. I loved this TV programme from the first episode and will religious follow it to the end. Although the main characters may not be very relate-able, they are definitely well developed so you do form a strong connection with them.

It’s also one of the only prison series’ I’ve heard about that revolved solely around females in prison.

House

IMDB rating: 8.8     My rating: 8

My dream career is to be a doctor, so it’s no surprise that I adore medical dramas. Unlike most though, this show revolves around weird and almost unheard of diseases to make for an interesting watch. The main characters are witty and the story lines do not decrease in quality even after eight series’.

